Archive pour juillet 2009

Young Leaders 2009 selection

French-American Foundation Announces

Selection of 2009 Young Leaders

2009 Annual Meeting: Chicago, Illinois

Paris/New York, July 1, 2009 – The French-American Foundation is proud to announce the participants selected for the 2009 Young Leaders program:

2009 American Young Leaders

  • Reuben Brigety, Director of the Sustainable Security Program, Center for American Progress
  • Sewell Chan, Reporter and Bureau Chief of City Room, The New York Times
  • Dalton Conley, Dean for the Social Sciences and University Professor, New York University
  • Xenia Dormandy, Executive Director, PeaceNexus
  • John Gallagher, Major, U.S. Army
  • Roy Katzovicz, Chief Legal Officer, Pershing Square Capital Management, L.P.
  • Magalie Laguerre-Wilkinson, Associate Producer, 60 Minutes – CBS News
  • Adeel Qalbani, Senior Managing Director, Reservoir Capital Group
  • Jamal Simmons, Principal, The Raben Group
  • Cynthia Smith, Executive Director, Public Policy, Payer Strategy and Operations, Affymax, Inc.
  • Matthew Turner, Executive, GE Energy

2009 French Young Leaders

  • Antoine Bello, Writer/Entrepreneur
  • Alexandre Bompard, CEO, Europe 1
  • Magda Danysz, President, Galerie Magda Danysz
  • Rémi El Ouazzane, Vice President and Worldwide General Manager, Texas Instruments
  • Claude Grunitzky,  Founder and Chairman of TMM Group Inc/ Founder, Chairman and Editor-in-Chief of TRACE Magazine
  • Jérôme Leprince-Ringuet, Manager, Refining and Marketing Research Department, Total
  • Vincent Mahé, Director, Corporate Finance Department, BNP Paribas
  • Audrey Pulvar, Chief Editor, France Télévisions
  • François-Xavier Rouxel,Executive Vice-President – Enrichment Business Unit, AREVA
  • Catherine Sueur, Deputy Executive Director, Musée du Louvre
  • Sébastien Veil, Director, PAI Partners

Click here for more information about the Young Leaders:

This year’s Young Leaders will visit Chicago, Illinois, the land of Lincoln and the home of U.S. President Barack Obama, from September 23-27.  Chicago is the third largest city in the United States and an important manufacturing, corporate and financial center.

During this session, the French-American group plans to meet key local officials, political figures, business leaders, academics and community activists in the quest of discovering integral aspects of Chicago’s landscape and, in particular, the city’s innovative community-based programs in education, public safety and neighborhood development.

The choice of Chicago, and the State of Illinois, as the focal point for this year’s program was not by chance, according to French-American Foundation-France president, Michel Garcin.  “We want to provide participants with the opportunity to hear from multiple voices on the dynamics of urban communities. Chicago is a vibrant cultural and economic center that also illustrates the challenges facing urban communities today.”

Antoine Treuille, president of the French-American Foundation in New York, commented, “An important part of this experience is to better understand how resources are mobilized and coordinated to provide real opportunities in and around cities, still one of the most difficult challenges confronting both the United States and France.  Fostering an ongoing exchange of ideas regarding programs that have proven effective in one country or the other is an essential part of the dialogue we are seeking to create.”

The prestigious exchange program’s alumni include former U.S. President Bill Clinton, current U.S. Secretary of State Hillary Clinton and former French Prime Minister Alain Juppé.  The sessions are intended to contribute to an ongoing dialogue and cement the relationships between future leaders from both sides of the Atlantic.

About the Young Leaders program

The French-American Foundation’s Young Leaders program began in 1981 as part of an effort to improve working relationships between French and American leaders by providing exposure to their trans-Atlantic counterparts in government, business, media, the military and the non-profit sector.  Past American Young Leaders include President Bill Clinton, Secretary of State Hillary Clinton, Senators Evan Bayh and Bill Bradley, General Wesley Clark, former White House Chief of Staff Joshua Bolten, World Bank President Robert Zoellick, and business leaders Frank Herringer (Transamerica Corporation) and John Thain (fomerly with Merrill Lynch). Past French participants include several business leaders, including Henri de Castries (AXA), Anne Lauvergeon (AREVA), and Michel Bon (formerly with France Télécom), in addition to a number of political leaders, such as former Prime Minister Alain Juppé, Minister for Higher Education and Research Valérie Pécresse, Minister for Forward Planning, Assessment of Public Policies and Development of the Digital Economy Nathalie Kosciusko-Morizet, former Minister of European Affairs Pierre Moscovici, former Minister of Defense Alain Richard and former Minister of Justice Jacques Toubon.

Young Leaders are selected by committees in France and the United States based on recommendations from past participants and members of the French-American Foundation as well as from other interested observers and from media reports about rising young personalities.  Candidates are typically under 40 years of age and are considered to have the potential to rise to the highest levels of their profession. Selected Young Leaders are invited to participate in two annual meetings which alternate each year between France and the United States.  Click here to view the members of the 2009 Young Leaders selection committees.

The French-American Foundation, with offices in Paris and New York, was established in 1976 with the mission to enrich and improve relations between France and the United States and to encourage an active dialogue between the two nations.

Press contact:       William Mengebier

Tel:                         +33 (0)6 29 62 03 04


The Young Leaders program is made possible through the generous donations from the following sponsors:

Corporate Benefactors Individual Benefactors
Aforge Finance The Honorable Anne Cox Chambers
Alpha Associés Jean-Luc Allavena
D’Artagnan Jennifer Koch Easterly
Lazard Frères SAS Frank C. Herringer
John N. Irwin, III
Raymond M. Jefferson
Sophie L’Hélias-Delattre
Jonathan S. Perelman
John A. Thain